Calspan Logo
Loading the player...

Viewing Issues? Click here.

Streaming Video Home Page  Click Here to Start 

OPC Meeting Agenda
Monday, October 17, 2016
1:00 pm

Natural Resource Building Auditorium
1416 Ninth St., Sacramento, CA 95814

John Laird, Secretary for Natural Resources, Council Chair
Matt Rodriquez, Secretary for Environmental Protection
Betty T. Yee, State Controller, Chair of the State Lands Commission
Fran Pavley, State Senator
Bill Quirk, State Assemblymember
Geraldine Knatz, Public Member
Michael Brown, Public Member

Watch Meeting Live (Link will activate when meeting begins)

1.  Welcome and Council Member Announcements

Secretary Laird, Council Chair

2.  Report from the Executive Director

Deborah Halberstadt, Executive Director

3.  Report from the Science Advisor

Tom Maloney, Executive Director, California Ocean Science Trust

4.  Action Item: Projects funded by Proposition 84

 Overview of Program: Deborah Halberstadt, Executive Director

Consideration of authorization to disburse Proposition 84 funds.

Climate Change

 Ocean acidification and hypoxia
Jennifer Phillips, Program Manager

 Sea-level Rise
Abe Doherty, Program Manager; Paige Berube, California Sea Grant fellow;

 Sediment Management
Chris Potter, Program Manager

 Marine Protected Areas
Cyndi Dawson, Program Manager and Sara Worden, California Sea Grant fellow

 Marine Pollution
Holly Wyer, Program Manager

 Sustainable Fisheries
Jennifer Phillips, Program Manager

 Motion and  Vote 

5.  Action Item: Consideration and possible adoption of a resolution on single-use plastic bags

John Laird, Secretary for Natural Resources

 Motion and  Vote

6.  Public Comment on non-agenda items

7.  Arrangements for Next Meeting and Adjournment

TBD early 2017, Natural Resources Building auditorium, Sacramento.


Agenda items may be re-ordered at the discretion of the council chair.

Please fill out a Request to Speak card to provide public comment on non-agenda items or on a specific agenda item. Comment on agenda items will be taken following each item.

Comments may be sent by email to: [email protected]. Written public comment must be received by 4 pm on October 7, 2016 to be included in the materials provided to the council at the meeting. Materials received after that date will be distributed to the council at the beginning of the meeting. Oral and written comments will be accepted at the meeting.

Questions about the meeting or agenda can be directed to Joanna Stone at (916) 653-0537 or [email protected].

Any person who has a disability and requires accommodation to participate in this council meeting should contact Ms. Stone no later than five days prior to the meeting.